Tags

, , , ,

I’ve been on the hunt for cute wipeable placemats. Cloth placemats just don’t cut it. With all the washing they get, they start to fade, shrink, and lose their shape. I did try bamboo, but I wasn’t happy with that either. Food gets stuck in between the cracks and spills seep through to the table. I’m trying to protect my nice wood table and bamboo is not cutting it! I love the woven vinyl placemats because they are wipeable, but it’s the same problem as the bamboo in that spills seep through to the table. I was willing to settle for the vinyl, and found some nice ones from Bed, Bath, and Beyond except not in the color I really wanted. I did settle for a color that carried me through the fall and winter, but it’s just too dull for spring and summer. My table is shouting for some color!

This is what I found on a trip at Target last week…

A teal printed wipeable tablecloth. As soon as I saw it, I thought placemats! And that’s exactly what I made out of it…

I used the measurements from an old placemat to make my new ones. I cut out strips from the left over tablecloth (there was plenty left over), ruffled them and sewed them on each side of my new placemats. Prior to attaching the ruffles, I did try ironing each placemat from the backside to get the fold lines and wrinkles out that were created from the manufacturer’s packaging. The original lines and wrinkles did come out, but instead new ones were created..ha! So I let them be and hopefully overtime they will go away on their own… I hope! The wrinkles don’t look so bad, do they?

I’m excited about my new placemats! Perfect for spring and summer! What do you guys think?

In case you were wondering about the cake… That’s my fake cake that I made a year or two ago. I have fooled a small few with it..hehe! It’s actually a storage box so the lid is removable. No secret treasures in there just yet!

I hope you liked my placemat idea! They can be found at these linky parties!